Not A Olympic 3m Springboard Diver, But Strong Like Mom

1385275_519882530025_787323257_n 1380240_519882525035_971075559_n

That’s my moms ID card from the National Olympic Committee of Guatemala for the Pan American Games of Central America and the Caribbean.

May she rest in peace and that she is enjoying the glorious heavens of eternal youth and happiness. Sadly she passed away too soon at the age of 78 in 2011, and though I did not know how to take the news of my mother passing–eventually it did hit me but very late. Death of a loved one and experiencing it for the first time, is so unreal…

Being that I was her youngest/only child of her 2nd marriage. She was very protective of me and loved to keep me under her wings. She always had a reason for me not to leave home. Maybe it’s our Latin culture, that your kids leave when they are ready or yet when they marry. She use to say, “Why go pay rent, when you have it all right here with me”.  You got admit nothing beats free rent, lol.

Anyway, since her passing I have truly found myself as an adult, a woman, and a mom. She was always my backup for everything. However, once she passed I worried if I was really ready for this type of world without her as my bodyguard….and YES, she prepared me very well (Thanks Mom). I am just as strong minded as she is, a go-getter, and accomplish everything I set my mind to. Though I’m not quite a high diver athlete like her (I’m scared of heights), I did wish she would have seen me cross the finish line of my first half marathon in 2012. I wish she could have seen me these 2 past years as the PTA prez of my daughters school and  how I revamped and motivated parents to bring back family engagement events that had been absent for years–she would have truly been my biggest cheerleader. I find myself everyday to be more like her, a woman who not only wants to put her skills and talents to work for the better of her community and organizations but to continue developing them by being an active role model in the community, but most importantly for my 8 year old daughter, who will also grow up to be a strong Latina just like her mom, Mamita (grandma), and of her generation.

Leave a Reply

