Growing up to Moms Music

i-love-music

I can remember vividly the music I grew up with. It happened every weekend, starting early on Saturday mornings.

I don’t know about everyones weekend rituals, but in my moms household it was turning her stereo first thing Saturday morning. Granted as a kid after a long week of school all you want to do is sleep in–but not in moms house. It meant lets start making the bed and go through my music tapes while I rearrange my jewelry box. As soon as I would hear her music in the mornings, I knew it was a matter of time before she came knocking on my door to get started on cleaning my room and chores. As annoying as it was to hear those songs in the morning, she exposed me to various artists she loved which I in turn learned to appreciate all types of music from latin music to jazz, country and all other genres.

Below are the top 5 I remember from artists my mom loved to play and my top 5 I liked for myself growing up.

MOMs TOP 5:

1. Vicente Fernandez – Las Mananitas

2. Anne Murray- Could I Have This Dance
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iE3z-6XO2Ds

3. Vikki Carr – Ni Princesa, Ni Esclava

4. Nat King Cole – Quizas Quizas

5. ABBA – Mamma Mia

 

My TOP 5:

1. Stevie Wonder- I just called to say I love you
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QwOU3bnuU0k

2. Magneto – Vuela Vuela

3. Gloria Estefan – Rhythm is gonna get you

4.  Madonna – Like a Virgin

5. Paula Abdul – Rush Rush

 

 

Prompt from the Daily Post at WordPress.com.

Leave a Reply

